Martin Palomo: Uplift Peak Preparatory

Martin Palomo is a senior at Uplift Peak Preparatory and was selected to be part of the Dell Scholars program. Through the award he will receive $20K in scholarships towards college in addition to a laptop, textbook credits, and ongoing support from the Dell team through college. 

Future College:

As of April, I am undecided. However, my top two choices are Swarthmore and Columbia University.

Awards, honors and scholarships: I was awarded numerous college grants and was also awarded the Dell Scholarship.

What is the biggest lesson you’ve learned in school?
I have learned that failure isn’t a negative thing. If channeled correctly, it can serve as a catalyst for future success, both academically and socially.

What has been your greatest accomplishment in school?
My greatest accomplishment in high school was receiving the distinguished delegate award at the Model UN competition held at Austin.

How have the RTC program/counselors supported your journey to college?
My RTC counselors were a pivotal component to success during my college journey. When an archer aims for his target, most people attribute the success to the arrow or the archer. However, without the bow to provide balance and direction, the archer would have an impossible time trying to reach his target, no matter how adroit he is at archery. My bow, my guidance that helped me navigate and transcend obstacles that stood before me, were my Road to College Counselors. Without their continued support, I wouldn’t have been able to apply out of state, locate fantastic financial aid programs which offer full rides, and acquire unbelievable educational opportunities which will impact the rest of my adult life.

What are you most excited about for college?
I am excited for the actual transition to college. The newly acquired independence and transition into an academically vibrant community of students who gather from across the globe to grow together as a community overwhelms me in a positive way. The change from the norm is never a negative thing and I am looking forward to this transition into the next step in my life.

Leave a Reply

