AB Bustamante: Achieving success with grit and determination

AB BustamanteAB Bustamante is currently a senior at Uplift Peak Preparatory in East Dallas.  As class president, it’s AB’s job to coordinate and lead fundraising events and officer meetings.  He also participates in soccer, basketball, cross-country and volunteering.  His level of involvement in the Uplift Peak community is especially impressive when considering his commitment to providing for his family.  Next year AB will be attending the United States Naval Academy on a $500,000 scholarship.

“AB is very respected by faculty, his peers and underclassmen. He is the epitome of a successful Uplift Peak Preparatory student,” said Road to College Counselor, Megan Fliss.

Read his own words about his journey to college:

What has been the best part about being in the Road to College program?

“The best part about being in the Road to College program is having a dedicated and motivated college counseling team ready to assist me through the entire college process. There is nothing more satisfying and calming than knowing that I have four college counselors willing to set everything aside to help me file my taxes, fill out college applications, revise my essays, etc. Without their unrelenting help, my senior year would have been much more stressful, and I wouldn’t have sought the many scholarship opportunities they found for me.”

 

What are you most excited about for college?

“It was an exciting moment when I opened my letter of acceptance and offer of appointment to the United States Naval Academy. I knew that the next four years would be the most challenging and demanding four years of my life. I’m excited to attend Plebe Summer after my graduation and undergo the transformation from a civilian to a midshipman. I am eager to discover the vast opportunities the Naval Academy will offer me to engage in politics in Washington D.C. as I pursue a major in Political Science. However, the most exciting thing will be graduating with my Class of 2018 and being commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the United States Marine Corps.”

 

What drives you to succeed?

“There is a motto among the elite fighting warriors, the U.S. Navy SEALs, which states, “The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday.” I have experienced the meaning of this motto firsthand. Being the eldest of three children and the only male figure in a household under the poverty line has been a challenging reality I have had to face since the age of 13. Seeing my mother struggle alone with the burdens of poverty enraged me but also motivated me to get a job to help my mom pay monthly expenses. Having a job and going to school at the same time has been tough, and although I doubted my efforts at times, I never quit. It was a drive within me that pushed me to face the next day’s problems with determination and confidence. I don’t plan to quit any time soon either; I plan to work in public policy/public administration to pressure our legislative body to enact policies to target and solve the rising problem of poverty in America. Although I can’t eradicate poverty completely, I won’t be satisfied until I reach something close to complete eradication.”

 

What are you most proud of that you have accomplished in your high school career?

“Being the first in my family to graduate from high school is the accomplishment I’m most proud of. My parents never reached high school, as they dropped out of sixth grade in Mexico in order to come to the United States. Graduating will not only make my parents proud, but I will also send a message to my younger sisters (both of whom attend Uplift Peak) that with a goal in mind and strong determination, nothing is impossible.”

 



Categories: Our People, Road to College, Uncategorized, Uplift News

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

